Griffith University

Tour de Cure Prevention Grant

February 24th, 2020

Congratulations to Dr. Catalina Carrasco Pozo, Prof. Vicky Avery and Dr. Kah Ni Tan, for receiving a Tour de Cure Prevention Grant for their project entitled ‘Targeting metabolic reprogramming as a strategy to prevent lung cancer: role of microbiota and diet’.

Read more »

Deputy Vice Chancellor’s (Research) visit to GRIDD

February 17th, 2020

Professor Mario Pinto, Griffith University’s new Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) during his recent visit to GRIDD. Pictured here with Professor Kathy Andrews (left) and Professor Vicky Avery (right) during his visit of the Discovery Biology facilities. 13.02.2020

Read more »

Griffith University 3Rs Award

January 23rd, 2020

Congratulations to Dr Elke Kaemmerer who has been selected as the Griffith University 3Rs Award recipient for 2019. This is an award that recognises an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of the 3Rs and animal welfare at Griffith University. Elke will receive $2000 to support her research activities into 3D models for Pancreatic Cancer.

Read more »

New drug target prevents deadly malaria transmission

December 18th, 2019

Institute researchers have found a new drug target for stopping the spread of malaria, after successfully blocking the world’s deadliest malaria parasite – Plasmodium falciparum – from completing the ‘transmission stage’ of its lifecycle. The research, published in Cell Reports, was led by Associate Professor Justin Boddey from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute and University of Melbourne, in collaboration with Professor Vicky Avery from Griffith University in Queensland.

Read more »

Nature Publication

December 13th, 2019

Griffith University researchers played a key role in identifying that particular enzymes are critical  in regulating leukemic stem cells, as part of an international collaboration led  by Professor Mark Dawson, at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre in Melbourne. The CRC for Cancer Therapeutics team at Griffith University, led by Professor Vicky Avery, contributed to a Nature publication “HBO1 is required for the maintenance of leukaemia stem cells.” by developing essential cellular assays. These were utilised to identify and evaluate highly selective small molecule inhibitors …

Read more »